Auxiliar en Secundaria

In this area the secondary schools involve in SEcc Europeas are:

  • Ies Eladio Cabañero
  • Ies Airén
  • Ies Francisco García Pavón

Compulsory Secondary Education (ESO)

Compulsory Secondary Education (Educación Secundaria Obligatoria or ESO) is structured as two cycles of two academic years each (total 4 years):

  • 1st Cycle (12–13 years of age)
  • 2nd Cycle (14–15 years of age)

Upon finishing ESO the student has a number of options, including:

  • Spanish Baccalaureate (post-compulsory diploma)
  • Vocational Training.
  • Work (it is only possible to get a job from 16 onwards)

Spanish Baccalaureate

The post-compulsory programme offered by Spanish schools is the Spanish Baccalaureate, orBachillerato. It encompasses grades 11 and 12, and is the normal option for those wishing to go on to university. There is often a substantial increase in the level of pressure and the workload, as this option is the most demanding. Upon completion, it entitles the student to sit the university-entrance exam (selectividad), or to follow some kind of higher vocational training.

The Spanish Baccalaureate is made up of two parts; the core subjects, and the specialist part (chosen out of five branches).

The core curriculum is as follows:

  • Spanish Language and Literature: 1st and 2nd years
  • Co-official language (in case of Catalan, Basque and Galician): 1st and 2nd years
  • First foreign language (English, French, German or Italian): 1st and 2nd years
  • Philosophy: Only 1st year
  • Physical Education: Only 1st year
  • Spanish History: Only 2nd year
  • History of Philosophy: Only 2nd year
  • Optional subject (2nd foreign language, psycology, information technology…): 1st and 2nd year
  • Catholic Religion/Religious Studies: Only 1st year

The specialist part has four subjects, three are compulsory (depending on the branch taken), and another one is optional.

  • Arts:
    • History of Art
    • Volume (sculpture)
    • Colours (painting)
  • Nature and Health Sciences:
    • Biology
    • Chemistry
    • Physics, Earth Sciences or Mathematics
  • Sciences & Engineering:
    • Physics,
    • Maths,
    • Chemistry or Technical Drawing
  • Social Sciences:
    • Applied Maths,
    • Economics,
    • Geography,
  • Humanities:
    • Latin,
    • Greek,
    • History of Art/World Literature

At undergraduate level, some degrees have their own branch requirements (such as medicine, engeneering degrees, law…) and some courses accept students from any branch, such as Language studies, Social Work, Educational Sciences or Tourism.


The Certificate of Secondary Education (ESO) is awarded at the end of compulsory secondary education. A student who achieves appropriate grades gets the ESO diploma and can apply for one of the different types of post-compulsory schooling.

After completing the Spanish Baccalaureate, the Spanish Baccalaureate diploma is awarded to those who pass every subject.

Students with appropriate qualifications and wishing to enroll in Spanish universities must usually take an entrance exam called PAU (Prueba de Acceso a la Universidad or University Entrance Examination), that consists in six tests, one for each subject and a test for each history or philosophy, foreign language (commonly English) and Spanish grammar and literature (Autonomous communities that have a co-official language, have also another test about co-official language grammar and literature), after passing their Bachillerato.

Comparative with British Qualifications

The Spanish School Leaving Certificate (ESO) is equivalent to a number of GCSEs.

The Bachillerato is equivalent to A-levels. Therefore, Spanish students obtaining the appropriate grades required for entrance into universities in Europe, including England, are not precluded.

Vocational Training

The vocational training is also a common possibility after ESO or after the Spanish Baccalaureate. There are two different types of programmes: Middle Grade Training Cycles (Ciclos Formativos de Grado Medio), which have the ESO diploma as a requeriment, and Superior-level Training Cycles (Ciclos Formativos de grado Superior), which have the Spanish Baccalaureate as the principal requeriment. After completion of the Superior-level Training Cycle, students are entitled to direct entrance to several related University degrees.

Provision and Costs

Schools in Spain can be divided into 3 categories:

  • State schools (Colegios Publicos)
  • Privately run schools funded by the State (Colegios Concertados)
  • Purely private schools (Colegios Privados)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: